Indonesian Journalists Vote Cars and Motorcycles of the Year 2023

car and motorcycle of the year 2023

Jakarta, - After announcing the 15 finalists in three car categories and 10 motorcycle finalists in two categories, the Indonesian Automotive Journalists Forum (FORWOT) has revealed the winners of each FORWOT Cars and Motorcycle of the Year 2023 category.

FORWOT Cars of the Year 2023 in the Internal Combustion Engine category was won by the Chery Omoda 5. Meanwhile, the Toyota Kijang Innova Zenix Hybrid and Wuling Air ev triumphed over their competitors in the Hybrid and Battery Electric Vehicle (BEV) categories.

Chery Omoda 5 secured 131 points, Toyota Kijang Innova Zenix Hybrid and Wuling Air ev garnered 157 points, and Wuling Air ev achieved 129 points.

The evaluation of the top 15 favorite cars or the final round was conducted by 21 core judges from FORWOT members, meeting the requirement of 80% having driven the finalists.

"All the judges have determined the FORWOT Cars of The Year winners by selecting the best car from the three competed categories. With the recognition of FORWOT's best cars, it is hoped to stimulate and drive the Indonesian automotive industry to provide high-quality products for both domestic and international consumers," stated Mufrod, Chairman of the FORWOT Cars of The Year 2023 Jury.

FORWOT Motorcycle of the Year 2023 in the Internal Combustion Engine category was clinched by Yamaha XMAX Connected with 154 points. Alva Cervo, with 142 points in the BEV category, successfully impressed the 21 judges.

"All the judges involved in FORWOT Motorcycles of the Year 2023 are experienced journalists, ensuring truly objective assessments. With these awards, we hope to further boost the growth of the automotive industry, especially motorcycles, in the country," said Ainto Harry Budiawan, Chairman of the FORWOT Motorcycles of the Year 2023 Jury.

Each judge provided assessments based on Design, Comfort, Safety, Performance, Handling, Functionality, Driving Experience, and Price. In each category assessment, each judge was equipped with 25 points to distribute among the finalists, with a maximum of 10 points allowed for one model in each category.

The judging process was conducted in a closed manner, emphasizing professionalism.

The Hybrid and BEV categories are new additions, responding to the electrification trend in Indonesia.

"The introduction of new categories, including Hybrid Electric Vehicle, both Strong/Mild Hybrid and Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicle, as well as BEV, is a response to the electrification trend in Indonesia. Through these awards, we also want to appreciate manufacturers who have launched electrification technologies, hoping to contribute to emission reduction targets and foster the domestic automotive industry," said Indra Prabowo, Chairman of FORWOT.

Here are the results of the FORWOT Cars of the Year 2023 judging:

ICE Category:
- Chery Omoda 5 – 131 points
- Honda HR-V – 120 points
- Mitsubishi Xforce – 119 points
- Wuling Alvez – 100 points
- Hyundai Stargazer X – 80 points

Hybrid Category:
- Toyota Kijang Innova Zenix – 157 points
- Wuling Almaz RS Hybrid – 103 points
- Honda CR-V e:HEV – 98 points
- Suzuki Grand Vitara Hybrid – 97 points
- Suzuki XL7 Hybrid – 95 points

BEV Category:
- Wuling Air ev – 129 points
- Hyundai Ioniq 6 – 116 points
- Toyota bZ4X – 105 points
- Kia EV6 GT-Line – 101 points
- Neta V – 99 points

FORWOT Motorcycles of the Year 2023:
ICE Category:
- Yamaha XMAX Connected – 154 points
- Honda ADV160 – 109 points
- Suzuki V-Strom 250 SX – 106 points
- Aprilia SR-GT 200 – 87 points
- Vespa GTV 300 – 69 points

BEV Category:
- Alva Cervo – 142 points
- Yadea E8S Pro – 102 points
- Vespa Elettrica – 101 points
- Gesits Raya G – 91 points
- Polytron Fox-R – 89 points

List of FORWOT Car of the Year Winners from 2009-2019:
2009: Toyota Prius
2010-2011: Not held
2012: Honda Brio
2013: Not held
2014: Honda Jazz
2015: Honda HR-V
2016: Mitsubishi Pajero Sport
2017: Honda CR-V
2018: Mitsubishi Xpander
2019: Wuling Almaz
2020-2022: Not held

Winners of FORWOT Motorcycle of the Year from 2009-2019:
2006: Yamaha Jupiter MX
2007: Not held
2008: Yamaha V-Ixion
2009: Not held
2010: Honda MegaPro
2011: Not held
2012: Honda Vario Techno 125 PGM-FI
2013: Not held
2014: Yamaha R25
2015: Yamaha NMAX
2016: Honda CBR150R
2017: Suzuki GSX-R150
2018: Honda PCX Hybrid
2019: Honda ADV 150
2020-2022: Not held